Theoretical Framework

The scholarship and scholarly activities at TIIS is underpinned by Boyer’s four types of Scholarship Model (Boyer, 1990).  The model recognises that academic scholarship is not purely focused on traditional or original research but occurs across four areas of scholarship activities.

The four types are:

  • Scholarship of Discovery (commonly known as Original Research)
  • Scholarship of Teaching and Learning
  • Scholarship of Integration
  • Scholarship of Engagement


Boyer, E. L. (1990). Scholarship reconsidered: Priorities of the professoriate. Carneige Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching.

Want to know more?

Find out more about studying in Australia with TIIS Institute​.